2019 Accreditation Report

The Department of Information and Library Science has begun its preparations for the next review by the American Library Association Office for Accreditation. The main component of the re-accreditation review is the Self-Study, a document currently being written by ILS faculty. The Self-Study will be made public on this page sometime in Fall 2018.

Data Collection: We are currently conducting a survey of our alumni, via Qualtrics. The survey results will be compiled and used as part of the Self-Study.

Site Visit: The Committee on Accreditation's External Review Panel will visit ILS on March 4th-5th, 2019. During this time, we will invite alumni, students, and other constituents to meet with the Panel.

As part of the preparation for the Self-Study, Former Dean & Chair Debora "Ralf" Shaw, who is on the Accreditation Steering Committee, formed the following ILS Advisory Committee for Professional Programs. The Committee will review the ILS mission, goals, student learning outcome statements, and the draft of the Self-Study.

Members of the ILS Advisory Committee for Professional Programs:

  • Krista Ledbetter, Director of the Morgan County Public Library, Martinsville, IN
  • Richard B. Dietz, Director, Information and Technology Services Department, City of Bloomington, Bloomington, IN
  • Geoff McKim, Information Assurance Program Manager, Technology Assurance Corp., Bloomington, IN
  • James Mullins, Dean of Libraries Emeritus, and Esther Ellis Norton Professor Emeritus of Library Science, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
  • Matt Pierce, Senior Lecturer, Media School, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
  • Brian Schottlaender, Audrey Geisel University Librarian, University of California San Diego
  • Carolyn Walters, Ruth Lilly Dean of University Libraries, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
  • Marilyn Wood, Director of the Monroe County Public Library, Bloomington, IN