Core Faculty

  • Name

    Contact

    Areas of Interest

  • Raj   AcharyaRaj Acharya
    Dean, Rudy Professor of Engineering, Computer Science and Informatics

    dean@soic.indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1079
    Luddy Hall 3156

    • Big Data Mining
    • Bioinformatics
    • Immune System Inspired Security Algorithms
  • Katy  BörnerKaty Börner
    Distinguished Professor of Engineering & Information Science

    katy@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-3256
    Luddy Hall 4018

    • 3-D Collaborative Virtual Environments
    • Cognitive Science
    • Complex Networks and Systems
  • Carol E.B.  ChoksyCarol E.B. Choksy
    Senior Lecturer

    cchoksy@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-9719
    Luddy Hall 2110

    • Intelligence Studies
    • Information Governance
  • Ronald E.  DayRonald E. Day
    Professor of Information and Library Science

    roday@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-3205
    Luddy Hall 2130

    • The Critical Theory of Information, Documentation, and Knowledge
    • Theory and History of Documentation
  • Devan Ray DonaldsonDevan Ray Donaldson
    Assistant Professor of Information Science

    drdonald@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-9723
    Luddy Hall 2126

    • Digital Curation
    • Digital Preservation
    • Data Science
  • Pnina  FichmanPnina Fichman
    Professor of Information Science

    fichman@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-1587
    Luddy Hall 2114

    • Social Informatics
    • Online Communities
    • ICT and Cultural Diversity
  • Noriko  HaraNoriko Hara
    Professor of Information Science

    nhara@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-1490
    Luddy Hall 2116

    • Community of Practice
    • Online Knowledge Sharing
    • Public Engagement in Science
  • Susan C.  HerringSusan C. Herring
    Professor of Information Science

    herring@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-4919
    Luddy Hall 0115

    • Computer-Mediated Communication
    • Computer-Mediated Discourse
    • Culture and Information Technology
  • Xiaozhong  LiuXiaozhong Liu
    Associate Professor of Information Science

    liu237@indiana.edu

    Luddy Hall 2120

    • Digital Libraries
    • Human Computing
    • Information Retrieval
  • Robert D. MontoyaRobert D. Montoya
    Assistant Professor of Information and Library Science

    montoya@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-2369
    Luddy Hall 2128

    • Knowledge Organization and Representation
    • Philosophy of Information
    • Biodiversity Informatics
  • Allen  RiddellAllen Riddell
    Assistant Professor of Information Science

    riddella@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-4730
    Luddy Hall 2124

    • Comparative Media Studies
    • Sociology of Literature
    • Data Science
  • Howard  RosenbaumHoward Rosenbaum
    Professor of Information Science

    hrosenba@indiana.edu
    (812) 855-3250
    Luddy Hall 2118

    • Data Science
    • Social Informatics
    • Social Theory in Information Science
  • Younei  SoeYounei Soe
    Visitng Lecturer for Information and Library Science, and Informatics

    ysoe@indiana.edu

    Luddy Hall 2111

    • Information Behavior (seeking, discovery, use, and evaluation of information)
    • Interaction Design
    • Social Influence of Information and Communication Technologies (Communication technology and political socialization/Social informatics)
  • John A.  WalshJohn A. Walsh
    Associate Professor of Information and Library Science

    jawalsh@indiana.edu
    (812) 856-0707
    Luddy Hall 2132

    • digital and computational literary studies
    • cultural heritage informatics
    • textual studies and bibliography